Three CORD MPs suspended from National Assembly over December chaos during Security Bill debate

John Mbadi (Suba), Silverse Anami (Shinyalu) and Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay)

John Mbadi (Suba), Silverse Anami (Shinyalu) and Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay)

Three opposition MPs will lose their committee and House sitting allowances after they were suspended for four days for causing chaos during the passage of the contentious security laws on December 18, 2014.

National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi suspended Suba MP John Mbadi, Silverse Anami (Shinyalu) and Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay County).

Cord withdrew from the chamber and held a brief parliamentary group meeting at the Small Dinning Hall immediately after the suspension of its members and resolved to push for the suspension of five Jubilee MPs who they said were also involved in the fracas.

The coalition, through Seme MP James Nyikal demanded the suspension of Muthomi Njuki (Chuka Igambangombe), Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Kimani Ngunjiri (Bahati), Joseph Kiuna (Njoro), Benjamin Lang’at (Ainamoi) and Alice Ng’ang’a (Thika Town).

Cord however lost the vote after polling 63 against 69 votes.

The three MPs were suspended pursuant to Standing Order 110 which imposes a four day suspension on the first instance.

“On the second occasion during the same session, for six sitting days and on the third or any other subsequent occasion during the same session for 28 siting days including the day of suspension,” it reads.

Ms Wanga, a member of the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) is being punished for splashing water on Deputy Speaker Joyce Laboso during an acrimonious debate that saw MPs tread blows in the House.

Mr Mbadi, who is also the Orange Democratic (ODM) chairman snatched and tore Order Papers and notes from the chairman of Administration and National Security committee Asman Kamama who was leading amendments to the Bill.

Mr Anami threw legal books, usually stored at the clerks table on Mr Muturi after he took over committee deliberations from Dr Laboso.

The decision to punish the MPs followed requests by Ainamoi MP Benjamin Lang’at who rose to demand that the lawmakers be punished for misbehaviour.

When Mr Muturi put the question to vote and the Jubilee lawmakers carried the day in an acclamation, Nakuru Town East MP David Gikaria rose to demand that the MPs be named.

MPs earn Sh5,000 per every sitting in the House and committees. Cumulatively, the three MPs will lose Sh60,000 in House sittings for the four days in suspension.

Ms Wanga will be the biggest loser in the event that she misses any of the PSC meetings given that each of the 11 member commission earns Sh40,000 per sitting.




Tags: , ,
%d bloggers like this: