UhuRuto nominates Kambi, Lenku to complete 18-member Cabinet

Kazungu Kambi and Mr. Joseph ole Lenku

Kazungu Kambi and Mr. Joseph ole Lenku

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday filled the remaining two Cabinet slots with the nomination of former Kaloleni MP Kazungu Kambi and Utalii College’s General Manager Joseph ole Lenku.

Kazungu who is a former Assistant Minister Medical Services has been nominated to the Labour, Social Security Services Ministry.

Lenku has been nominated to the powerful Interior and Coordination of National Government docket, which will be based at the Office of the President.

Lenku has a background in the hotel and hospitality industry having managed Utalii College. He also managed several five star lodges, and holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Marketing Major) from the University of Nairobi.

Lenku was also among the over 300 people who applied for jobs as Principal Secretaries.

A statement from the Presidential Press Service says Kenyatta has already forwarded the two names to Parliament for approval.

Parliament’s Committee on Appointments will have 14 days to conduct approval hearings on the suitability of the two to hold office. They will then submit a report and recommendations to the House. MPs will then be required to either approve or reject the nominations.

The nominees name will be sworn into office if Parliament approves their nomination.

In his new Executive structure released in April, Kenyatta announced that the ministries of Interior and Coordination of National Government and that of Devolution and Planning, will be placed under him and Deputy President William Ruto.

This means that the two leaders will oversee the functions of either of the two ministries, depending on which they pick.

“Under the presidency, there will be the Executive Office of the President and the Executive Office of the Deputy President with two ministries; Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government and Ministry of Devolution and Planning,” a brief from State House had indicated.

President Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto unveiled their partial 16-member Cabinet in April.

The Cabinet includes: Raychelle Omamo (Defence), Ann Waiguru (Devolution and Planning), Judi Wakhungu (Environment, Water and Natural Resource), Charity Ngilu (Land, Housing and Urban Development), Phyllis Kandie (East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism) and Amina Mohamed (Foreign Affairs), James Macharia (Health), Fred Matiang’i (ICT) and Henry Rotich National Treasury).

Others are former Mvita MP and a partner in the Jubilee Coalition Najib Balala who is in charge of Mining while Adan Mohamed is the head of Industrialisation and Enterprise Development docket.

Davis Chirchir is the Cabinet Secretary for Energy and Petroleum, as Jacob Kaimenyi was appointed to the Education docket.

Former Roads Permanent Secretary Michael Kamau is the Secretary for Transport and Infrastructure while Hassan Wario has taken charge of Sports, Culture and Arts.

Felix Kiptarus Kosgey took over as Secretary for Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries.




Tags: , ,
%d bloggers like this: