Jubilee seeks to withdraw Khalwale from House team

boniThe Jubilee coalition has moved to try and enforce provisions of the Political Parties Act by withdrawing their support for a senator for apparent failure to toe the coalition line in the Senate.

If a motion proposed in the Senate on Tuesday by Majority Leader Kithure Kindiki gets the House approval, Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale will be withdrawn from two committees including one he had intended to chair.

Dr Khalwale, a United Democratic Forum senator, has announced publicly that he will not support Jubilee despite his party signing a post-election coalition agreement.

The government’s motion to discharge Dr Khalwale from the two teams comes in the wake of a stalemate over the leadership of the key committee on Finance, Commerce and Economic Affairs.

Twice, the nine members of the team have been unable to elect a chairman with Dr Khalwale and Mandera Senator Kerrow Billow (URP) tying with the support of four of their colleagues.

Kisumu senator Prof Anyang’ Nyongo who is out of the country, had been expected to break the tie, it is still away.

On Tuesday morning, an attempt to hold another election failed after the Jubilee Coalition informed the committee of its intention to discharge Dr Khalwale from the committee and replace him with the Majority chief whip Ms Beatrice Elachi.

Section 14 (e) of the Political Parties Act 2011, states that any member of party who promotes “the ideology, interests or policies of another political party shall be deemed to resigned from the previous party. In the case of a coalition, the Act says it would not apply in case the political party member would do so in relation to the common objective of the coalition.

In the case of Dr Khalwale, he has declared he will work with the opposition, the Minority Coalition on Reforms and Democracy.

On Tuesday, Ms Elachi , a nominated Alliance Party of Kenya senator said Jubilee could not continue sponsoring the Kakamega senator accusing him of working with the opposition.

She singled out his support for Siaya Senator James Orengo (ODM) who won the chairmanship of the committee on Implementation.

The move comes at the midst of a heated controversy between Jubilee and minority Cord over representation in the two watchdog committees, Public Accounts and Public Investments committees.

Members of committee on Finance, Commerce and Economic Affairs include:

  • Billow Kerrow (Mandera, URP)
  • Boni Khalwale (Kakamega, UDF)
  • Mutahi Kagwe (Nyeri, Narc)
  • Peter Mositet (Kajiado, TNA)
  • James Mungai (Nakuru, TNA)
  • Moses Wetangu’la (Bungoma, Ford Kenya)
  • Anyang Nyong’o (Kisumu, ODM)
  • Harold Kipchumba (Nominated ODM)
  • Nobwala Catherine Mutike ( Nominated , Ford Kenya)





Tags: , , ,
%d bloggers like this: